
The history of the Holy Trinity Column, located today in the middle of the roundabout, dates back to the Baroque era in the 1760s.
This was when the manor steward Ádám Ház built a double statue and statue casing next to the work depicting the Holy Virgin holding the Baby Jesus, the Holy Trinity and St. Dominic kneeling in front of them. At the time the group of statues presumably stood in front of the St. Christopher’s Chapel on the site of today’s church, but since they obstructed the view from Baron Antal Sándor’s palace, it was decided to remove the group of statues. On the recommendation of the Torbágy parish priest, the Holy Trinity was separated from the group of statues, the statue casing was removed and the work of art moved.
The Holy Trinity statue was placed on a tall, octagonal, stone column with a Corinthian head in 1873, through a donation from the stonemason Mihály Juhász and his wife. The trio of the Holy Father, Christ and the Holy Spirit appear in the image of a dove and watch protectively over the settlement from the top of the column, which was placed in its current location in the middle of the new roundabout junction at the center of the settlement of Bia in 2006.
BIA HOLY TRINITY COLUMN
Biatorbágy, Szentháromság tér
GPS: 47.465634,18.807776
The once richest livestock farmer in the region built one of the oldest houses in Zsámbék, the St. Wendelin building with...
MoreSt. John of Nepomuk statue was erected around 1750 Imre Plájes. It moved to its present location on the occasion of the...
MoreThe most uniform line of cellars in the Zsámbék Basin region is the one in Páty.
More