
Construction of the Bia Holy Cross Chapel must have begun at the start of the 13th century and the building constructed in late Roman style can therefore be considered the oldest architectural relic in Biatorbágy.
The chapel was extended several times over the centuries, as the population of the village increased. It took on its definitive form in the 14th century. According to a documented reference from 1351 the chapel was erected in honor of the Holy Cross. In accordance with the customs of the age, inhabitants of the village of Bia were buried around the church.
The church ruins still visible today can be found in the Reformed cemetery on the southeastern boundary of the village.
HOLY CROSS CHAPEL
Biatorbágy, Sándor utca
GPS: 47.461639,18.814156
The well is located in the nineteenth century. Originally was built in neoclassical style.
MoreThe grave of Lieutenant Zoltán Árvay and his comrades is located between the Valley Path and the Cemetery Path.
MoreThe St. Wendelin Chapel was erected by József Szily at the beginning of the 19th century.
MoreThe history of the Holy Trinity Column, located today in the middle of the roundabout, dates back to the Baroque era in the...
More